CA certificate

In the X.509 system, there are 2 types of certificates:

  1. a CA certificate.
  2. an end-entity certificate.

A CA certificate can issue other certificates.
The top level, self-signed CA certificate is sometimes called the Root CA certificate.
Other CA certificates are called intermediate CA or subordinate CA certificates.